Product Code: FN COMPO 2
Artist: Verlaines, The
Origin: New Zealand.
Label: Flying Nun (1988)
Format: LP
Availability: Enquire Now
Cover: VG+
Record: VG+
Genre: Rock U


Rare smart clean vinyl with a  good cover showing minor shelf wear.

Juvenilia is a compilation album by the New Zealand group, The Verlaines, first released in 1987 by Flying Nun Records. It collects the band's early singles and EPs.

Juvenilia is a compilation of the Verlaines’ brilliant early singles and EPs. First released in 1987, and reissued in 1993 with bonus tracks it documents the band’s early history and is the perfect introduction to one of New Zealand’s great bands.

Opening with the irrepressible ‘Death and the Maiden’, a song that for many is archetypal of the group’s deft ability to wield a pop hook. The album also features their first two tracks, ‘Angela’ and ‘Crisis After Crisis’, recorded on Chris Knox’s four track and released on the infamous Dunedin Double EP.

Juvenilia, complete with orchestral and brass flourishes, is a constant display of the unstoppable songwriting skills of vocalist/guitarist Graeme Downes. From single ‘Doomsday’ through to their perfect love song ‘Joed Out’, Juvenilia is a compilation filled with all the elegant and often magnificently moody elements of the Verlaines

A1 Death And The Maiden 4:24
A2 Angela 3:33
A3 Baud To Tears 4:01
A4 Crisis After Crisis 5:05
A5 Burlesque 3:43
B1 Joed Out 3:37
B2 Pyromaniac 3:27
B3 You Say You 7:02
B4 Windsong 3:09
B5 You Cheat Yourself Of Everything That Moves 3:23