Product Code: 724384165512
Artist: Smashing Pumpkins The
Origin: EU
Label: Virgin (2012)
Format: 4 X LP Box Set.
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Alternative Rock , Rock N

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

Limited four vinyl LP pressing, digitally re-mastered box set edition of The Smashing Pumpkins 1995 career-defining double album, Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness.

Originally released October 24, 1995, the album would debut at #1 on the Billboard 200 chart and was certified 9x platinum by the RIAA. It yielded major hits like Bullet with Butterfly Wings the band's unlikely first Top 40 hit, the exquisite 1979 and epic Tonight, Tonight as well as a thoroughly inspired series of videos.

Produced by Billy Corgan, Flood and Alan Moulder, the album would also earn a Grammy Award (1996 Best Hard Rock Performance for "Bullet with Butterfly Wings") as well as seven nominations. Beyond the more obvious hits, though, Mellon Collie is a song cycle of unusual depth and considerable range.

It is a collection of stunningly beautiful moments when everything lined up-a moment in time that's still here to be treasured.

4 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, 180g black vinyl pressing
Slipcase with updated cover art
Printed inner sleeves
Includes 36 page booklet with notes, photos, art + lyrics

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness is the third studio album by the American alternative rock band The Smashing Pumpkins, released on October 24, 1995 on Virgin Records. Produced by frontman Billy Corgan with Flood and Alan Moulder, the 28-track album was released as a two-disc CD and triple LP. The album features a wide array of styles, as well as greater musical input from bassist D'arcy Wretzky and second guitarist James Iha.

Led by the single "Bullet with Butterfly Wings", the record debuted at number one on the Billboard charts, the only such occurrence for the group with first week sales of 246,500 units.[2] The album spawned five more singles—"1979", "Zero", "Tonight, Tonight", the promotional "Muzzle", and "Thirty-Three"—over the course of 1996, and was certified diamond by the RIAA, equivalent to over 10 million units sold.[3] Praised by critics for its ambition and scope, Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness earned the band seven Grammy Award nominations in 1997, including Album of the Year and Record of the Year ("1979"), as well as 9 MTV Music Video Awards nominations, 8 of which were for "Tonight, Tonight", including "Video of the Year". Not only did they all become hits on both mainstream rock and modern rock stations, but "Bullet with Butterfly Wings", "1979", "Tonight, Tonight", and "Thirty-Three" also became the band's first Top 40 hits, crossing over to pop radio stations.

    Dawn To Dusk  
A1   Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness
A2   Tonight, Tonight
Arranged By [Strings]Audrey Riley, Billy Corgan
A3   Jellybelly
A4   Zero
B1   Here Is No Why
B2   Bullet With Butterfly Wings
B3   To Forgive
C1   Fuck You (An Ode To No One)
C2   Love
C3   Cupid De Locke
C4   Galapogos
D1   Muzzle
D2   Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans
D3   Take Me Down
Pedal Steel Guitar, Lap Steel GuitarGreg Leisz
Producer [Additional], Mixed ByJames Iha
    Twilight To Starlight  
E1   Where Boys Fear To Tread
E2   Bodies
E3   Thirty-Three
E4   In The Arms Of Sleep
F1   1979
F2   Tales Of A Scorched Earth
F3   Thru The Eyes Of Ruby
G1   Stumbleine
G2   X.Y.U.
G3   We Only Come Out At Night
G4   Beautiful
H1   Lily (My One And Only)
H2   By Starlight
H3   Farewell And Goodnight
Producer [Additional], Mixed ByJames Iha