Product Code: 5053887762
Artist: rickie lee jones
Origin: EU
Label: BMG (2022)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Jazz N

pieces of treasure

Brand new sealed album from Rickie Lee Jones.

The American music icon, whose work has spanned genres and decades, is back with her 15th studio album. The project is devoted entirely to the American Songbook of jazz standards, reinterpreted in Jones’ wide-ranging musical fashion.

“This album is as much about being human, the view of surviving—which means aging, and loving relentlessly—as it is about anything,” Jones explains of the forthcoming Pieces of Treasure in a statement. “We love ‘til the day we die, love our lives, our families, and finally ourselves.”

With the announcement, Jones has shared the album’s lead track, “Just in Time.”

“I am flirting with my microphone,” Jones says of the soft jazz number. “It is easygoing, tongue-in-cheek, even humorous. Don’t ask me how a singer brings all that to a text, it just happens. It reminds me of the grown-ups back in the 1960s, like my parents might have been, when they were dancing too close. Like Dean Martin might have been, jostling around the subject.”

The magic is all in the synchronicity between the players, Jones points out. “We are one, saying the same thing in the same way,” she continues. “I liked pop songs in the old custom, back when songs were two and half minutes.

1. “Just in Time”
2. “There Will Never Be Another You”
3. “Nature Boy”
4. “One for My Baby”
5. “They Can’t Take That Away from Me”
6. “All the Way”
7. “Here’s That Rainy Day”
8. “September Song”
9. “On the Sunny Side of the Street”
10. “It’s All in the Game”