Product Code: 19439956891
Artist: Prince
Origin: EU
Label: Legacy / Sony (2023)
Format: LP
Availability: Enquire Now
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Acoustic , Blues , Funk , Rhythm and Blues N

The Truth

Brand new sealed reissue of this classic album.

The Truth is the 21st full-length studio album by Prince, the fifth to be credited to SymbolSmallerBlue.png. It was the first to be labeled an 'acoustic' album. The album was only originally available for purchase in CD format with the album Crystal Ball, and so was shipped to customers who had pre-ordered Crystal Ball in January 1998 (14 months after the release of his previous album, Emancipation), with a retail release (again as part of the Crystal Ball package) following the next month.

Sessions and compiling

The album was recorded during a set of sessions, the first of which took place on 1 December 1996 at Paisley Park Studios, Chanhassen, MN, USA, when he recorded The Truth and Don’t Play Me back to back. Comeback was the third song recorded also in December 1996, with the rest following throughout the winter.The album was originally planned for release by EMI Records in 1997, following the release of Emancipation, but the release was canceled with the record label’s demise.

In May 1997, announced that the album would receive an independent limited edition cassette release, but this release was canceled also. Following its release as part of the Crystal Ball package, announced in 1998 that The Truth would be re-released as a widespread retail release in 2000. Steve Parke was quoted remembering to have been working on the artwork for this seperate release but it was canceled for unknown reasons.

Although the album is billed as "acoustic", the album contains several electronic instruments, samples, distortions and sound effects. It does largely focus on an acoustic sound, however.

  • Side 1:
  1. The Truth (3:35)
  2. Don’t Play Me (2:48)
  3. Circle Of Amour (4:44)
  4. 3rd EyeBlue.png (4:54)
  5. Dionne (3:14)
  6. Man In A Uniform (3:08) 1 
  • Side 2:
  1. Animal Kingdom (4:01) 1 
  2. The Other Side Of The Pillow (3:22)
  3. Fascination (4:55)
  4. One Of Your Tears (3:27)
  5. Comeback (2:00)
  6. Welcome 2 The Dawn (Acoustic Version) (3:18)