Product Code: 034973744
Artist: Little Feat
Origin: EU
Label: Warner Music (2023)
Format: 3xLP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Blues , Rock N

Sailin' Shoes

Sealed - Brand new triple limited edition triple album.

Sailin' Shoes was the second studio album by the American rock band Little Feat, released in 1972.

The album is notable for several reasons. First, it introduced the cover artwork of Neon Park to the group. Second, it marked a shift from the sound of the band's first album, Little Feat, to that of their next album, Dixie Chicken. Third, it marked the last album appearance of original bassist Roy Estrada.

Highlighted by a reworked group version of "Willin'," the track that had led Frank Zappa to sack guitarist and vocalist Lowell George from The Mothers of Invention, it also featured such enduring tracks as "A Apolitical Blues," "Easy to Slip" and the title track, all by guitarist and lead vocalist Lowell George, the second co-written with Martin Kibbee, credited as "Fred Martin", a former bandmate from The Factory, and the first appearance of the "George/Martin" credit on a Little Feat record.

The track "Texas Rose Cafe" is a tribute to a post - Houston concert visit by Lowell George and others to the hippie restaurant/club/beer garden. During refreshments upstairs George had said that he liked the place so much that he was going to write a song about it and it would be on their next album. It turned out to be true and not just so much "beer talk".

It was the last full Little Feat record to be produced by an outsider until 1977's Time Loves a Hero, with each of the three interim albums being produced almost entirely by Lowell George.

Noted Los Angeles-based session percussionist Milt Holland played percussion on "Easy to Slip" and "Trouble" and he also played tabla on the follow-up album Dixie Chicken. Ron Elliott of the Beau Brummels played rhythm guitar on "A Apolitical Blues" and Debbie Lindsey provided the female vocals on "Cold, Cold, Cold" and the title track.

In 1972 Van Dyke Parks covered "Sailin' Shoes" on his album Discover America, while in 1973, the Scottish hard rock band Nazareth covered "Teenage Nervous Breakdown" on their album Loud 'n' Proud.

In 1974 backed by The Meters and Lowell George, Robert Palmer covered "Sailin' Shoes" on his debut solo album Sneakin' Sally Through the Alley.

In 1988 Van Halen recorded a cover of "A Apolitical Blues" on their album, OU812, although the song is not included on some cassette and some original vinyl copies of the album.

    Sailin’ Shoes 2023 Remaster  
A1   Easy To Slip
Written-ByGeorge*, Martin*
A2   Cold, Cold, Cold
Written-ByLowell George
A3   Trouble
Written-ByLowell George
A4   Tripe Face Boogie
Written-ByBill Payne, Richard Hayward*
A5   Willin'
Written-ByLowell George
A6   A Apolitical Blues
Written-ByLowell George
B1   Sailin' Shoes
Written-ByLowell George
B2   Teenage Nervous Breakdown
Written-ByLowell George
B3   Got No Shadow
Written-ByBill Payne
B4   Cat Fever
Arranged ByLowell George
Written-ByBill Payne
B5   Texas Rose Cafe
Written-ByLowell George
    Hotcakes, Outtakes & Rarities  
C1   Sailin’ Shoes (Demo) 2:57
C2   Easy To Fall (Easy To Slip) (Demo for The Doobie Brothers) 2:41
C3   Texas Rose Cafe (Demo for The Doobie Brothers) 3:24
C4   Cold, Cold, Cold (Alternate Version) 4:17
C5   Roto/Tone 4:07
D1   A Apolitical Blues (Alternate Version) 3:46
D2   Boogie - Tripe Face Boogie 3:58
D3   Trouble (Alternate Version) 2:23
D4   Doriville 2:44
D5   Willin’ (Alternate Version) 3:00
D6   Easy To Slip (Alternate Version) 3:22
    Thank You! I’ll Eat It Here: Live At The Palladium, Los Angeles, CA August 28, 1971  
E1   Tripe Face Boogie 4:30
E2   Hamburger Midnight 3:41
E3   Cat Fever 5:19
E4   Willin’ 4:06
E5   Strawberry Flats 3:11
F1   Got No Shadow 5:08
F2   Texas Rose Cafe 4:05
F3   Snakes On Everything 4:18
F4   Hot Rod (Eldorado Slim) 5:08
F5   Teenage Nervous Breakdown 3:01