Product Code: HNELP083D
Artist: Humble Pie
Origin: UK
Label: Cherry Red (2019)
Format: 2 X LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Blues , Classic Rock , Hard Rock , Rock N

Official Bootleg Collection Vol. 1

Brand new sealed double RSD release housed in a gatefold cover.  


    Arie Crown Theatre, Chicago 22nd September 1972  
A1   Introduction
A2   Up Our Sleeve
A3   Honky Tonk Women
A4   I Wonder
A5   Four Day Creep
    Shibuya Kokaido, Tokyo 16th May 1973  
B1   Introduction
B2   I Believe To My Soul
B3   Hot 'N' Nasty
B4   Oh La-De-Da
    Charlton Athletic Footbal Ground 18th May 1974  
C1   Introduction
C2   Whatcha Gonna Do About It
C3   Let Me Be Your Lovemaker
C4   I Don't Need No Doctor
    Rainbow Theatre, London 6th June 1974  
D1   Thunderbox
D2   30 Days In The Hole
D3   Sweet Peace And Time
D4   C'Mon Everybody


 Humble Pie’s “Official Bootleg Collection Volume 1” is a raw testament to what this band did best; playing bluesy, gutsy, soulful and often hard rock, live on stage to an adoring audience. Drawn from a variety of mainly audience recordings that have previously only been available as “under the counter” pirate releases, this is an honest, and often unforgiving, tribute to a classic and much missed 70s supergroup.

• Originally emerging from the remnants of 60s beat heroes, The Small Faces, Humble Pie formed in 1969 when guitarist and vocalist Steve Marriott joined forces with Peter Frampton, drummer Jerry Shirley and bassist Greg Ridley, and signed to Andrew Loog Oldham’s Immediate label.

• After two albums for Immediate, Humble Pie switched to A&M Records, and began their ascent to conquering the theatres, then arenas of North America, culminating in 1972’s double live “Performance: Rockin’ The Filmore”. Frampton would leave to pursue a highly successful solo career, to be replaced by Clem Clempson, and it was this line-up that was captured at the Arie Crown Theatre, Chicago on 22nd September 1972, whilst touring to promote that year’s “Smokin’” opus, from which ‘Hot ‘n’ Nasty’ and ‘C’mon Everybody’ were taken.

• With the band’s growing worldwide reputation, the band toured Japan, playing the Shibuya Kokaido in Tokyo on 16th May 1973, whilst promoting their “Eat It” album, from which Ray Charles’ ‘I Believe To My Soul’ was featured, and with a set that ended with a rip-roaring take of the Staple Singers’ ‘Oh La-De-Da’.

• There’s no doubting that the 70s saw some unmissable bills, and the show held at Charlton Athletic Football Ground on 18th May 1974 was no exception, where Humble Pie guested alongside Lou Reed and Bad Company at a concert headlined by The Who. Kicking off with the Small Faces’ debut classic ‘Whatcha Gonna Do About It’, Humble Pie were at the peak of their live powers before a capacity crowd, including ‘Thunderbox’, the title track from that year’s new LP, in their set. CD Three ends with four songs recorded at Finbury Park’s legendary Rainbow Theatre, on 6th June 1974.

• As well as plenty of rare memorabilia, the booklet features an essay from Malcolm Dome based on new interviews with Pie drummer, Jerry Shirley.

• Whilst every effort has been made to produce the best possible audio, limitations in the material drawn from various, non-standard, and unoffical sources means that the quality may not be up to the standard usually expected. All tracks have been included for their historical importance, and to present an alternative anthology of Humble Pie live on stage from 1972-1974.