Product Code: PCS6108
Artist: Hollies The
Origin: New Zealand
Label: Parlophone (1972)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: VG
Record: VG+
Genre: Pop U


Very nice clean vinyl, gatefold cover (some shelf wear).

Romany is the twelfth UK studio album by The Hollies, the first not to feature their lead singer Allan Clarke, who had left to embark on a solo career. He was replaced by Swedish singer Mikael Rickfors. In the opinion of contemporary and retrospective critics, this album moved the band further away from the original vocal harmony style of Allan Clarke, Tony Hicks and Graham Nash.[3][2]

The album only features two songwriting contributions from band members: one song was co-written by Tony Hicks, who had been a co-writer on a significant proportion of the band's material since their second album; and another was written by new member Rickfors. Previous albums, with the exception of Hollies Sing Dylan and the band's debut album, had much more original material.

The US Epic Records version of the album, which reached number 84 on the Billboard 200, omitted the track "Lizzy and the Rainman", and has a slightly altered side one track order. The album failed to chart in the UK. The cover of Romany is a rendering of the summer location depicted on Distant Light as a winter scene.

As the album was nearing release[when?] the members of the group were getting nervous and made at least three changes in the album, announced a single before retracting it,[vague] which delayed the album for three months. Due to the success of the previous album and its smash hit single, the LP initially sold very well in the US. Upon its release, Romany sold six times more copies in the first week in the US than any previous Hollies album had sold in a year. It also received more US FM airplay than the band had ever got in their previous nine years.

01. Won't You Feel Good That Morning
02. Touch
03. Words Don't Come Easy
04. Magic Woman Touch
05. Lizzy & The Rainman
06. Down River
07. Slow Down
08. Delaware Taggett And The Outlaw Boys
09. Jesus Was A Crossmaker
10. Romany
11. Blue In The Morning
12. Courage Of Your Convictions