Product Code: FRENZY LP102
Artist: Grim Ltd.
Origin: New Zealand
Label: Frenzy Music (2023)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Blues , Blues Rock , Garage Rock , Pop , Pop Rock , Rock N

Shakin’ It Up At The Nicoberg

Brand new sealed reissue of this nostalgic NZ album.

After the roaring success of the recent Ragnarok reissue, tireless NZ music champions Frenzy are back with their brand new vinyl and CD offering, this time it's the thrilling discovery of Palmerston North's best kept secret. Recorded in 1966, this rip-snorting garage rock'n'roll set was to be the final performance of Grim Ltd, who broke up after a mere 18 months as a band. With those who've heard it citing the band as Aotearoa's answer to The Pretty Things, Shakin' It Up At The Nicoberg is set to rewrite our rock'n'roll history in fierce and prototype punk style.

On a balmy night in downtown Palmerston North in late 1966, the cities top band took the stage for the last time. The venue was the Nicoberg Coffee Lounge which was situated near the Stafford Arcade near Cuba St. The group were tipped to be the next big thing and were being courted by HMV and Viking Records, but decided to break up instead, for a variety of reasons. The group had been together for nearly 18 months and were affectionately labelled as ‘Palmerston North’s Pretty Things, but they could just as easily been compared to The Who, The Rollingstones or The Kinks .

The group’s reputation precedes them and you can now here these legendary live, raw, warts and all recordings for the first time as recorded on the night by the groups drummer and future sound engineer John Van Der Reyden.

Track List:
  1. Milk Cow Blues
  2. Sticks And Stones
  3. Baby Doll
  4. Hey Mama
  5. True Story
  6. The Kids Are Alright
  7. Talkin’ Bout You
  8. Don’t You Know
  9. My Babe
  10. Substitute
  11. I’ll Go Crazy
  12. Little Boy Sad
  13. Gloria
  14. I’ll Be Doggone