Product Code: 0349782769
Artist: Four Seasons The
Origin: Worldwide
Label: Rhino Records (2024)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: N

The Genuine Imitation Life Gazette (RSD 2024)

Brand new sealed LP, Album, Record Store Day, Limited Edition, Reissue, Stereo.

The Genuine Imitation Life Gazette is a 1969 album by American rock band the Four Seasons. Member Bob Gaudio teamed up with Jake Holmes to create a psychedelic concept album which adjusted the band's stylings to the changing times of the late 1960s.[3] Instead of love songs, the band tackled subjects such as war and racial tension.[4]

The album's packaging was also distinctive, with the cover being stylized as a newspaper and the sleeve containing an eight-page newspaper-like insert that also had specially-done color underground comics strips by Skip Williamson and Jay Lynch.

The first single issued seven months before the album's release (June 1968) was "Saturday's Father" (Philips 40542). It only bubbled under at number 103 on the Billboard Hot 100. A second single with both sides culled from the album, "Idaho" and "Something's on Her Mind," was released in March 1969 as Philips 40597. Both sides barely crept into the Billboard Hot 100, at number 95 and number 98, respectively.[5]

A1   American Crucifixion & Resurection 6:48
A2   Mrs. Stately’s Garden 3:12
A3   Look Up Look Over 4:42
A4   Something’s On Her Mind 2:44
A5   Saturday’s Father 3:10
B1   Wall Street Village Day 4:26
B2   Genuine Imitation Life 6:15
B3   Idaho 3:03
B4   Wonder What You’ll Be 3:25
B5   Soul Of A Woman 7:05