Product Code: WAX950711
Artist: Elvis Presley
Origin: UK
Label: Waxtime (2013)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Pop , Rock , Soundtracks N

G. I. Blues (Blue Vinyl)

Sealed brand new 180 gram new release pressed in Blue Vinyl made in the EU.

G.I. Blues is the eleventh album by American singer and musician Elvis Presley, released by RCA Victor in October 1960. It is the soundtrack to the 1960 film of the same name starring Presley. Recording sessions took place on April 27 and 28, and May 6, 1960, at RCA Victor Studio C and Radio Recorders in Hollywood, California. The album topped the Billboard Top Pop Album chart.[4] It was certified Gold on March 13, 1963 and Platinum on March 27, 1992 by the Recording Industry Association of America.[5]

Music on this album comprised songs that had appeared in the film of the same name. The song "Wooden Heart" was released as a single in the United Kingdom, where it was number one for six weeks. In the United States, Joe Dowell recorded a cover version of "Wooden Heart" that topped the Billboard Hot 100. RCA Victor later released "Wooden Heart" by Presley as the b-side of a single twice, once in 1964 on the back of a reissue of "Blue Christmas," and again on the flip side of a belated issue in 1965 of "Puppet on a String" from the film Girl Happy. Four songs from this album appear on the 1995 soundtrack compilation Command Performances: The Essential 60s Masters II: "G.I. Blues", "Wooden Heart", "Shoppin' Around", and "Doin' the Best I Can".

Due to copyright reasons, the European version of the soundtrack album and film substitutes the opening track "Tonight Is So Right for Love" with the song "Tonight's All Right for Love", adapted from a melody by 19th century waltz-king Johann Strauss II, Tales from the Vienna Woods. Interestingly, the melody for "Tonight Is So Right for Love" was taken directly from a barcarolle composed by Jacques Offenbach, one of Strauss's contemporaries. An American release of "Tonight's All Right for Love" did not occur until it appeared on the compilation album Elvis: A Legendary Performer Volume 1 in 1974. The version of "Blue Suede Shoes" used on the soundtrack is a new recording of the song Presley first recorded in 1956, and is one of only a few songs that Presley would re-record in a studio setting during his career, others being "Love Letters", "It Hurts Me" and "A Little Less Conversation".

The G.I. Blues soundtrack album was nominated for two Grammy Awards in 1960 in the categories Best Sound Track Album Or Recording Of Original Cast From A Motion Picture Or Television and Best Vocal Performance Album, Male.[6]


A1   Tonight Is So Right For Love
A2   What's She Really Like
A3   Frankfort Special
A4   Wooden Heart
A5   G. I. Blues
A6   Surrender
A7   I Feel So Bad
B1   Pocketful Of Rainbows
B2   Shoppin' Around
B3   Big Boots
B4   Didja' Ever
B5   Blue Suede Shoes
B6   Doin' The Best I Can
B7   Little Sister
B8   I Slipped, I Stumbled, I Fell