Product Code: 5053886158
Artist: Desmond Dekker
Origin: Germany
Label: Trojan (2023)
Format: 2 X LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Reggae , Ska N

Essential Artist Collection (Violet Vinyl)

Brand new sealed double LP, Compilation, Violet viny housed in a gatefold cover.

Trojan Records release the final set of releases from their new The Essential Artist Collection — a brand new series of artist-focused compilation albums showcasing some of the very best talent from the label’s esteemed roster, in Desmond Dekker + Marcia Griffiths. Championing their stellar catalogues, the series highlights the most important ska and reggae tracks from the most influential artists and vocal/instrumental groups with each title available in double colour vinyl, double CD and digital formats.

Before Bob Marley’s rise to pre-eminence, the title of the world’s leading reggae performer rested firmly with another young singer from Kingston: Jamaica’s Desmond Dekker. Between 1967 and 1970, Desmond enjoyed a succession of international hit singles, breaking new ground with singles such as ‘007’, the first Jamaican-produced single to break into the UK top twenty, and ‘Israelites’, the first reggae single to reach the Number One spot in Britain and to breach the US chart. Further triumphs followed thereafter, with major chart hits including ‘It Mek’, ‘Pickney Gal’, ‘You Can Get It If You Really Want’ and ‘Sing A Little Song’, all of which cemented his place in history as Jamaica’s first global superstar. This Essential Artist Collection set pays due respect to the original King of Reggae and superbly demonstrates the immense talent that set Desmond Dekker apart from his peers during the Golden Age of Jamaican music.

A1   Israelites
A2   It Mek
A3   Fu Man Chu
A4   The Song We Used To Sing
A5   Beautiful And Dangerous
A6   King Of Ska
A7   Intensified '68
B1   You Can Get It If You Really Want
B2   Unity
B3   Live And Learn
B4   Rudy Got Soul
B5   Get Up Adina
B6   Generosity
B7   Pretty Africa
C1   007
C2   The First Time For A Long Time
C3   Rude Boy Train
C4   Honour Your Mother And Father
C5   It Pays
C6   Problems
C7   Wise Man
D1   Sing A Little Song
D2   Mother Pepper
D3   Mount Zion
D4   Licking Stick
D5   Young Generation
D6   Pickney Gal
D7   Jamaica Ska