Product Code: 7719713
Artist: Cat Stevens
Origin: EU
Label: Deram (2024)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Folk Rock , Pop Rock , Rock N

Matthew & Son (Cream Vinyl)

Brand new sealed remastered reissue pressed in Cream vinyl.

Matthew and Son is the debut studio album by English singer-songwriter Cat Stevens, released in March 1967.

Stevens began writing songs during his early teenage years. His earliest influences included the sound of early British bands, such as the Beatles and the Rolling Stones, influenced by popular American rhythm and blues. At the same time, folk influences from artists such as Bob Dylan and Simon & Garfunkel left a strong mark on him, along with some of the musicals being performed so close to his childhood home in Soho that he could often hear them drifting through his room. Stevens's older brother, David Gordon, attracted the attention of music producer Mike Hurst, formerly of the Springfields, in the hope of finding a producer interested in his younger brother's music. After a demo was recorded, a deal was struck between the two.[1] The album was not released until 1967; however, recording began on 10 July 1966, with a few advance singles appearing around that time.

Cat Stevens' incredible debut album Matthew & Son is released on coloured vinyl for the first time.

Featuring the classics, I Love My Dog, Here Comes My Baby, and Matthew & Son, this is where the legend began.


1. Matthew & Son
2. I Love My Dog
3. Here Comes My Baby
4. Bring Another Bottle Baby
5. Portobello Road
6. I've Found A Love
7. I See A Road
8. Baby Get Your Head Screwed On
9. Granny
10. When I Speak To The Flowers
11. The Tramp
12. Come On And Dance
13. Hummingbird
14. Lady