Product Code: 5419740995
Artist: Bowie,David
Origin: Germany
Label: Parlophone (2023)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Glam , Psychedelic Rock , Rock , Rock & Roll N

Pin Ups (Limited Half-Speed Mastered Vinyl)

Brand new sealed.LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo, Half-Speed Master, 50th Anniversary

Pin Ups (also referred to as Pinups and Pin-Ups)[a] is the seventh studio album by the English musician David Bowie, released on 19 October 1973 through RCA Records. Devised as a "stop-gap" album to appease his record label, it is a covers album, featuring glam rock and proto-punk versions of songs by British bands from the 1960s that were influential to Bowie as a teenager, including the Pretty Things, the Who, the Yardbirds and Pink Floyd.

The album was recorded from July to August 1973 at the Château d'Hérouville in Hérouville, France following the completion of the Ziggy Stardust Tour. It was Bowie's final album co-produced with Ken Scott. Two members of the Spiders from Mars backing band contributed, guitarist Mick Ronson and bassist Trevor Bolder, while Mick Woodmansey was replaced by Aynsley Dunbar on drums. Following a surprise announcement at the end of the tour that the Spiders were breaking up, tensions were high during the sessions, which was reflected in the tracks. The album cover, featuring Bowie and 1960s supermodel Twiggy, was taken in Paris and originally intended for Vogue magazine.

Released only six months after Aladdin Sane and preceded by a cover of the Merseys' song "Sorrow" as the lead single, Pin Ups was a commercial success, topping the UK Albums Chart, but received negative reviews from critics, who criticised the songs as generally inferior to the originals. Retrospective reviewers have described it as uneven, while others believe it had a good premise, but suffered from poor execution. Bowie's biographers have noted it as an experiment in nostalgia. Some publications have regarded it as one of the best covers albums. It has been reissued numerous times and was remastered in 2015 as part of the box set Five Years (1969–1973).

    Rosalyn 2:20
    Here Comes The Night 3:08
    I Wish You Would 2:47
    See Emily Play 4:10
    Everything's Alright 2:27
    I Can't Explain 2:10
    Friday On My Mind 2:56
    Sorrow 2:53
    Don't Bring Me Down 2:06
    Shapes Of Things 2:52
    Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere 3:05
    Where Have All The Good Times Gone! 2:46