Product Code: 4727622
Artist: Bob Marley & The Wailers
Origin: Europe
Label: Tuff Gong / Island (2015)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: M
Record: M
Genre: Reggae N


Sealed - Brand new 180 gram vinyl with embossed cover. Made in the EU. Includes free digital download voucher.

"Album of the century." - Time magazine

Exodus is the ninth studio album by Jamaican reggae recording band Bob Marley and the Wailers, first released 3 June 1977 though Island Records. Following the disbandment of the groups original member's Marley was joined by a new backing band in which they released their first major success Rastaman Vibration (1976). On 3 December 1976, an assassination attempt was made on Bob Marley's life in which his chest was grazed and his arm was struck, but he survived.[1] Following the assassination attempt Marley left Jamaica and was exiled to London where Exodus was recorded.[2]

Exodus is a reggae album, but it also incorporates elements of blues, soul, British rock and funk. The album's production has been characterized as laid-back with pulsating bass beats and an emphasis on piano, trumpet and guitar. Unlike previous albums from the Wailers, Exodus thematically moves away from cryptic story-telling; instead it revolves around themes of change, religious politics, and sex. The album is split into two halves: the first half revolves around religious politics while the second half is focused on themes of sex and keeping faith.

The album was a success both critically and commercially; receiving gold certifications in the US, UK and Canada, and was the album that propelled Marley to international stardom.[1] In 2007 Exodus was remastered and re-released for its 30th anniversary. Exodus has more tracks on Marley’s greatest hits album, Legend which is the highest selling reggae album of all time, than any of his other records.[1

A1   Natural Mystic
A2   So much things to say
A3   Guiltiness
A4   The Heathen
A5   Exodus
B1   Jamming
B2   Waiting in vain
B3   Turn your lights down low
B4   Three little birds
B5   One Love / People get ready