Product Code: SBP 473792
Artist: Bob Dylan
Origin: New Zealand
Label: CBS (Early 70s)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: G+
Record: VG+
Genre: Pop U

Self Portrait

Good 2LP vinyl, gatefold cover has minor shelf wear, and rubbing on spine.

Self Portrait is the tenth studio album by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, released on June 8, 1970, by Columbia Records.

Self Portrait was Dylan's second double album (after Blonde on Blonde), and features many cover versions of well-known pop and folk songs. Also included are a handful of instrumentals and original compositions. Most of the album is sung in the affected country crooning voice that Dylan had introduced a year earlier on Nashville Skyline. Seen by some as intentionally surreal and even satirical at times, Self Portrait received extremely poor reviews.

Dylan has stated in interviews that Self Portrait was something of a joke, far below the standards he set in the 1960s, and was made to end the "spokesman of a generation" label that critics had put on him.

Despite the negative critical reception, the album quickly went gold in the US, where it hit No. 4, and was also a UK No. 1 hit. The album saw a retrospective positive re-evaluation with the release of The Bootleg Series Vol. 10: Another Self Portrait (1969–1971) in 2013.[1]


A1   All The Tired Horses 3:11
A2   Alberta #1 2:55
A3   I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know
Written-ByC.A. Null*
A4   Days Of 49 5:42
A5   Early Mornin' Rain
Written-ByGordon Lightfoot
A6   In Search Of Little Sadie 2:26
B1   Let It Be Me
Written-ByG. Becaud*, M. Curtis*, P. Delanoe*
B2   Little Sadie 1:58
B3   Woogie Boogie 2:06
B4   Belle Isle 2:28
B5   Living The Blues 2:41
B6   Like A Rolling Stone 5:14
C1   Copper Kettle
Written-ByAlfred F. Beddoe*
C2   Gotta Travel On
Written-ByP. Clayton*
C3   Blue Moon
C4   The Boxer
Written-ByP. Simon*
C5   The Mighty Quinn (Quinn The Eskimo) 2:54
C6   Take Me As I Am
Written-ByB. Bryant*
D1   Take A Message To Mary
Written-ByB. & F. Bryant*
D2   It Hurts Me Too 3:16
D3   Minstrel Boy 3:29
D4   She Belongs To Me 2:42
D5   Wigwam 3:08
D6   Alberta # 2 3:20