Product Code: L 37753
Artist: Steeleye Span
Origin: Australia
Label: Chrysalis (1981)
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: VG+
Record: NM (M-)
Genre: Folk Rock , Rock U


Very smart clean vinyl with a nice crisp cover.

This is an Australian-only release with some rare tracks and introductions.

From the Down Home catalog: “An exciting collection of 18 tracks features unfamiliar and rare material - several tracks only previously available on singles, special edited versions of Elf Call and Montrose not issued elsewhere. verbal Christmas greetings from the group, Maddy's recollections on the origin of the group and a previously unissued bit of foolishness that was recorded at one of their regular sessions.”

  1. Introduction by Maddy Prior      (1.54)
  2. The Boar's Head Carol      (Roud 22229)      (3.33)      single-only release
  3. Seventeen Come Sunday      (Roud 277; Laws O17; G/D 4:791; Henry H152)      (5.00)      from Storm Force Ten
  4. Rollercoaster      (3.32)      from Maddy Prior: Woman in the Wings
  5. Gamble Gold (Robin Hood)      (Roud 333; Child 132)      (3.37)      from All Around My Hat
  6. Elf Call      (Roud 3723; Child 40; G/D 2:328)      (2.47)      Australian-only single edit
  7. London      (4.37)      from Rocket Cottage, with an introduction by Maddy Prior
  8. Rag Doll      (3.04)      single-only release
  9. Harvest Home      (0.55)      from Sails of Silver
  1. Montrose      (3.57)      Australian-only single edit
  2. Bonny Moorhen      (Roud 2944; G/D 7:1426)      (4.12)      from Original Masters
  3. Cadgwith Anthem      (Roud 3314)      (2.41)      from All Around My Hat
  4. Overseas      (3.09)      from Tim Hart: Tim Hart
  5. The Bosnian Hornpipes      (1.40)      from Rocket Cottage, with an introduction by Peter Knight
  6. Lass of Loch Royal      (Roud 49; Child 76; G/D 6:1226)      (4.01)      from Silly Sisters: Silly Sisters
  7. Hunting the Wren      (Roud 236)      (2.47)      from Live at Last!
  8. Campton Races      (Roud 11768)      (2.02)      from Rocket Cottage
  9. The Holly and the Ivy      (Roud 514)      (3.31)      single-only release, but with Christmas messages by band members