Product Code: Jazz Groove 003
Artist: Count Basie And His Orchestra
Origin: UK
Label: Jazz Groove
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock
Cover: VG+
Record: VG+
Genre: Jazz U

The Count In England

Very smart vinyl with a good clean cover .

William James "Count" Basie (August 21, 1904 – April 26, 1984)[1] was an American jazz pianist, organist, bandleader, and composer.

In 1935, Basie formed his own jazz orchestra, the Count Basie Orchestra, and in 1936 took them to Chicago for a long engagement and their first recording. He led the group for almost 50 years, creating innovations like the use of two "split" tenor saxophones, emphasizing the rhythm section, riffing with a big band, using arrangers to broaden their sound, and others. Many musicians came to prominence under his direction, including the tenor saxophonists Lester Young and Herschel Evans, the guitarist Freddie Green, trumpeters Buck Clayton and Harry "Sweets" Edison and singers Jimmy Rushing, Helen Humes, Thelma Carpenter, and Joe Williams.


A1 The Moon's Not Green 3:50        
A2 Brushes And Brass 4:03        
A3 Bag O' Bones 2:45        
A4 Who Me? 4:14        
A5 The Deacon 7:55        
B1 Plymouth Rock 6:35        
B2 April In Paris 3:37        
B3 Fawncy Meeting You 2:50        
B4 Five O'Clock In The Morning 2:53        
B5 Roll 'Em Pete 2:35        
B6 Everyday 3:44        
B7 One O'Clock Jump 1:32